top of page
  • samuelclincoln

EISA Championship Recap: Dartmouth and the University of Vermont rake in the awards

The women's All-East First Team

After an exciting weekend of racing at the EISA championships up at Middlebury, the alpine and nordic teams of the EISA gathered in a semi-circle around the Snow Bowl podium. As the awards were announced, the alpine racers of Dartmouth and UVM emerged as

Middlebury freshman Ali Nullmeyer and UVM freshman Jagge Lindstoel both received the rookie of the year award for their outstanding performance in their first ever carnival season. Nullmeyer podiumed at five races, coming in second in slalom right off the bat at the Harvard Carnival and then going on to win three slalom races and one GS race.

Jagge Lindstoel podiumed at least once at every carnival and twice at the Harvard, Colby, and Williams carnivals. He got one third place and three second place finishes in slalom as well as one slalom win (at the Bates carnival). In GS he climbed the podium four times for two third place and two second place finishes, and finished in the top 10 an additional two times.

Next year’s slalom leader bibs were handed out to Emma Woodhouse, of UNH, and Jagge Lindstoel. GS leader bibs were tossed to Claire Thomas, of Dartmouth, and Erik Arvidsson of Middlebury.

The team awards, which recognize performance in all alpine and nordic events, went to the Dartmouth women’s team and the UVM men’s team. The overall winner (men and women combined) was UVM, wrapping up an extremely impressive carnival season for the Catamounts.

The alpine coach of the year was Scott Macpherson, of Harvard, who was instrumental in putting on Harvard’s first ever carnival at Waterville Valley and whose athletes raced their way the Crimson's most successful alpine season in recent history.

Below is a list of the athletes named to the first and second all-east teams:

All-East First Team (women)

Ali Nullmeyer (Middlebury)

Claire Thomas (Dartmouth)

Marina Vilanova (UVM)

Tricia Mangan (Dartmouth)

Madeleine Dekko (Williams)

All-East First Team (men)

Justin Alkier (Middlebury)

Jagge Lindstoel (UVM)

Tim Gavett (Middlebury)

Erik Arvidsson (Middlebury)

Drew Duffy (Dartmouth)

All-East Second Team (women)

Emma Woodhouse (UNH)

Josefine Selvaag (UVM)

Abi Jewett (Dartmouth)

Lucia Bailey (Middlebury)

Gwen Wattenmaker (Dartmouth)

All-East Second Team (men)

Andrew Miller (Dartmouth)

Mathias Tefre (UVM)

Robby Kelley (Castleton State)

Patrick Kenney (UNH)

Kipling Weisel (Dartmouth)

The next stop for the top racers of the league is Bridger Bowl, Montana, where NCAA championships will be held from March 11-13.


bottom of page